Okay, I’m tired.   Really, really tired.  Undereye concealer is mandatory.

The new office digs are awesome.  I can walk to court.  Court is across the street.  This is good.

I can’t construct a paragraph longer than nine words.  Again…tired!

Whining aside, this is a good tired.  This is a “I’m really busy” sort of tired.  Being a sole practitioner, “really busy” is good.

Which brings me to an important announcement – this week marks my year anniversary as a solo practitioner.  Do I like being my own boss?  The answer pretty much fluctuates, but when all is said and done, the pros outweigh the cons.

Some cons:

  • Financial worries.  I only get paid if I’m my own rainmaker.  No pay check.
  • Finding time to do the administrative end of practice, like making bills and paying bills.  Important stuff.
  • There’s nowhere to pass the buck – it starts and ends with moi.

Some pros:

  • I get to decide which cases I take.
  • Sometimes I can take the afternoon off, just because.
  • If I want to take a couple days off, I don’t have to ask permission. I just find a way to schedule the time off around deadlines.
  • I get to decide which cases I take.  (Yes, I know I already said that, but it’s a biggie.)
  • No office politics.
  • No interoffice meetings.
  • No Court appearance = Instant Casual Day.
